My first re-visit to wonderful Istanbul

IMG_8126 small

In September this year I visited Istanbul for the third time, together with my travel mate Louise (often mentioned in this blog). Before making a post about that trip I felt the need to organize my previous posts about the city. Istanbul was the first post I ever made and I merged the trip 2011 with my first visit 2009 and did not do the city justice at all. With so much material I decided to re-do my my first post to cover only 2009. This post covers the re-visit 2011 and the following one, which I will blog about next week, will cover the third trip 🙂

So, before reading any further I suggest you take a look at my first post, “A fist encounter with lovely Istanbul” 🙂 That will also give you some background to how I met my friend Canem and the network Couchsurfing.

My 2011 visit to Istanbul was done in connection to a round trip I did in Turkey that summer. I had picked the hottest month July which unfortunately is when I am expected to take my main holiday due to the Swedish laws. I started with a few days at Canem´s place which gave me a new insight to Istanbul. Canem lives on the Anatolian side which I had no time to visit 2009. She let me see a totally non touristic side of Istanbul and I had a few wonderful days with her. I also managed to meet up with a guy from Istanbul that I actually got to know in Tokyo on a night out with a bunch of Couchsurfers. It was great to see Armagan in his home environment and we had a lovely dinner together one night.

IMG_0405 small

IMG_0414 small

IMG_0419 small

IMG_8092 small

IMG_8102 small

IMG_8107 small

IMG_8117 small

IMG_8119 small

IMG_8123 small

IMG_8149 small

IMG_8160 small

IMG_8163 small

IMG_8191 small

IMG_8203 small

IMG_8207 small

IMG_8213 small

After a few days in Istanbul at Canem´s place it was time to board the night bus to Göreme (I did totally three night bus journeys in Turkey on my 2011 trip and they were all excellent!). I can only say that Turkey went up to my Top 5 favorite countries rather fast. Learn more about my Turkey trip from following posts:

Cappadocia – one of the most extraordinary landscapes you will ever come across

Kas – lovely Mediterranean town that made me postpone my departure and reschedule my trip

Fetiye – the hub for sailing tours on turquoises waters and much more…

Pamukkale – top tourist attraction in Turkey famous for the hanging white chalk pools & ancient Hierapolis

Selcuk – cozy town close to the famous archaeological site Ephesus (ancient very well preserved Roman city)

Before flying back to Sweden I had another two nights in Istanbul that I spent in a hostel in Sultanahmet. I dedicated my full day to a boat trip on the Bosphorus. The boat departed from central Istanbul, at Eminönü, and stopped at different small harbors on the way towards the Black Sea. You can hop of any time and board a new boat whenever you area ready discovering. On the way you can view the magnificent residences along the waterfront. It was a perfect day! And a nice ending of my first re-visit to Istanbul.

IMG_0198 small

IMG_0205 small

IMG_0220 small

IMG_0221 small

IMG_0230 small

IMG_0249 small

IMG_0306 small

IMG_0325 small

IMG_0362 small

IMG_0370 small

About Jenny Trozell

Swedish girl with a passion for travelling, Latin dance and meeting new interesting and fun people :-)

Posted on November 30, 2014, in Turkey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

