Finally time for some Amsterdam

IMG_0256 small

Finally the time has come to show you my Amsterdam 🙂 I used to live in Amsterdam and surroundings between 1996-2003 and therefor, as you can imagine, that city is very special too me. Nowadays I make a re-visit about every second or third year. It has become less frequent with the years that has passed. This spring I went there with Robert for a long weekend. I did just what I always do when in Amsterdam. Strolling around. And if you like what you see on below pictures look out for my next post where I will present my three walking tours which will make you discover some of the most cozy places that Amsterdam has to offer. It started  with a colleague asking for tips when she was about to go. I made three walking tours for fun and they have since been used by two more satisfied colleagues 😉

IMG_0131 small

IMG_0128 small

Sure there are lot´s of museums and other things to see in and around Amsterdam but for me Amsterdam is all about relaxing, watching people and just feel the place. I normally tend to plan a bit too much when I travel but when I go to Amsterdam I do not have too, I know what I want. I know that I will spend most of my time having a coffee or a beer along one of the cozy channels in the Jordaan and surrounding areas or just getting lost on small streets and surprised by some odd shop or random sight along the way. And I try to allways cover the Noordermark by the Noordekerk, which is a farmers market and handicaraft marker that runs every Saturday.

IMG_0148 small

IMG_0170 small

IMG_0156 small

IMG_0136 small

IMG_0182 small

IMG_0188 small

IMG_0190 small

IMG_0191 small

IMG_0220 small

IMG_0236 small

This time we decided to splurge a bit and treat us with a boutique hotel with a view over the channel Herengracht. We picked Hotel Hegra and were extremely satisfied. The room was small, simple and clean not to forget to mention amazing beds, linen and pillows! And on top of this our room had a channel view 😀 The two gentlemen running the place were attentive in a discrete way and made great breakfast every morning. I mean, just check out picture number two below. How can one not like that? It was fun to look out and see the boats passing by. Amsterdammers likes to cruise the channels while having a picknic or a party on a boat. Great lifestyle 🙂

IMG_0241 small

IMG_0310 small

IMG_0323 small

IMG_0265 small

IMG_0343 small

In the little Chinatown of Amsterdam there are many great restaurants. One day we picked one which seemed to have many Chinese customers and were very lucky. The food was fantastic! The streets of Chinatown are bordering to the notorious red light district of Amsterdam. If you can avoid being disturbed about the ladies in some of the windows, the large amount of sex shops and other erotic entertainment + the smell of marijuana, the streets of the red light district them self are very cozy. And there are some really good restaurants and bars in that area. I usually stroll through it at some point of my stay.

Amsterdam by night is very romantic. And there is no lack of bars. Amsterdam has got both the classic brown café bars and very modern once. Many of them serves both as bar and so called “eetcafe”, which means there is a limited bar menu available. In Amsterdam most things “goes”, just look at that cat sleeping on the bar on picture five below 😉

IMG_0346 small

IMG_0354 small

IMG_0289 small

IMG_0082 small

IMG_0071 small

IMG_0364 small

IMG_0366 small

Amsterdam is not a huge city and very walkable. Once you get thirsty my tip is to order mint thee and you will, in many places, get served hot water with a generous twig of mint leaves in it. It is so fresh and natural. Walking a lot also requires lot´s of energy and there are plenty of possibilities to grab a praline or two. If you pick it up at Puccini you might be satisfied with one, they are huge 😉

IMG_0404 small

IMG_0414 small

IMG_0438 small

IMG_0456 small

20140623_143400 small

20140623_143437 small

20140623_155906 small

When I first came to Amsterdam in the autumn of 1996 it was love at first sight. I had a wonderful time living there some years but now a distant relation works just perfect. But I do need my Amsterdam dose now and then. It is a liberating place to be, just how I like it!

IMG_0375 small

 

About Jenny Trozell

Swedish girl with a passion for travelling, Latin dance and meeting new interesting and fun people :-)

Posted on October 26, 2014, in Netherlands and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Amsterdam is beautiful! Thanks for sharing your city with us 🙂

  2. Thank you Cindy! It is very beautiful in a special way 🙂

  3. Love see different food cultures! Also, are those woodblock stamps in the images? Looked pretty neat.

Leave a Reply

