The feeling of Lisbon

IMG_0721 small

It has been a while since my last post. For me blogging about my trips is a way to process and gather all my memories once I get back home. During vacation I don´t spend time behind the screen.

This summer I did something different. I went to Portugal with the main purpose to learn some Portuguese. I just love that language and have been wanting to learn it for some time. Through Internet I found Angelo´s website which right now seems to be down but he also has a page on facebook for more information. Angelo lives just outside Lisbon and teaches live in Lisbon and surroundings but also through Skype. I had heard Lisbon should be a great city so I based myself there for two weeks during which I met with Angelo 9 times x 3 hours, in different cafes. Those two weeks turned out to be amazing. Angelo is a fantastic person and a great teacher and the time with him was really fun and well invested. Before and after the lessons (which were 1:1) I wandered around a lot in Lisbon. And so those two weeks flew very fast and I am loaded with motivation 😉

IMG_0887 small

I have been thinking about how to best present Lisbon in this post. Lisbon is not a city full of “must see” things and it is a bit rough on the edges. Still there is so much to discover if you like me just love to wander around and feel a place. Lisbon had this great vibe that made me relaxed & happy. It is not a chaotic huge city. Is is touristy but in a good and integrated way. The facades of Lisbon are amazingly beautiful with many houses covered in mosaic patterns. And the pavements too are a delight to walk on with different cobblestone patterns everywhere. I stumbled upon a web page that I wish I would have found before I went but now I have a reason to return to look up the best facades and pavement art that Lisbon has to offer 😀

Lisbon is a hilly city with nice viewpoints to enjoy. Walking is possible but there are also trams to bring you up and down if you wish. And there is no shortage of cozy plazas to wind down at with a coffee and some of the best pastries ever eaten :-P. When the sun gets lower it is wonderful to hang out by the waterfront with a beer or caipirinha and just watch the laid back life pass by…

I hope you enjoy below images of Lisbon, a new found favorite that I will revisit for sure. In next post I will introduce some more Lisbon culture and after that I will cover some coastal delights 🙂

IMG_0603 small

IMG_0605 small

IMG_0639 small

IMG_0644 small

IMG_0659 small

IMG_0688 small

IMG_0691 small

IMG_0700 small

IMG_0765 small

IMG_0859 small

IMG_0860 small

IMG_0872 small

IMG_0876 smallIMG_0884 small

IMG_0903 small2

IMG_0895 small

IMG_1460 small

IMG_0910 small

IMG_1445 small

IMG_1455 small

IMG_1464 small

IMG_1474 small

IMG_1466 small

IMG_1480 small

IMG_1111 small

IMG_1714 small

IMG_1734 small

About Jenny Trozell

Swedish girl with a passion for travelling, Latin dance and meeting new interesting and fun people :-)

Posted on August 17, 2014, in Portugal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Wonderful images of Lisbon. The pictures give a feel of interest, and yearning, and would notch up a bit on possible future destinations, if only for a brief stop. M

  2. Lovely photos. I’m going to Lisbon in a few weeks for work (with s couple of days free to explore) and this has whetted my appetite.

  3. I´m glad to read about your lovely journey in my city 🙂 cheers PedroL

Leave a Reply

