Discovering Hiroshima historically & gastronomically

IMG_0200 small

Finally I can start blogging about Japan again 🙂 Since I have limited time spending on this blog and since new trips takes up most of my attention, it is hard for me to catch up with the past. I still have so many trips to cover! In my last post about Japan I wrote about my amazing day trip to Miyajima, an island close to Hiroshima. After I came back in the evening I strolled around Hiroshima and had their famous Okonomiyaki. A great dish that you can see more about on below pictures. That evening I also saw the A-bomb Dome for the first time, lit up in the dark. This former Hall was just 160 meters from the hypo center of the bomb. Somehow it did not collapse and today it is on the world heritage list as a world peace monument. It was a very emotional moment to see this building. In fact when choosing the pictures for this post I had to cry. Japan is such a beautiful place filled with amazing people and it is hard to accept what the atomic bombing of Hiroshima led to. But before we go over to more sad history I have to say that Hiroshima surprised me. It was a very pleasant city with wonderful people. And the Okonomiyaki – wow!!! I cannot really describe this dish, I think the pictures below will better show both the dish and the nice way you watch it being prepared and eat it 😛

IMG_0261 small

IMG_0225 small

IMG_0229 small

IMG_0251 small

IMG_0252 small

IMG_0239 small

IMG_0257 small

IMG_0276 small

IMG_0291 small

IMG_0306 small

IMG_0310 small

IMG_0313 small

IMG_0321 small

After seeing the A-bomb dome at night the first time it was nice to come back and see it in daylight. The Peace Park in Hiroshima is a beautiful place to stroll around with lots of memorial monuments to watch and educational reading to go with it. The most famous is the Children´s Peace monument. Further down in one of my pictures there is some more background reading about this monument and the thousands of origami cranes surrounding the actual monument. At the end of the Peace Park lies the Peace Memorial Museum. It was a touching moment to walk around in the museum and learn about the tragedy the atomic bomb led too. The survivors of the so called A-bomb are called “Perifpheral Hibakusha” and there are today about 66000 of them still living in Hiroshima. With this I let you view some of the pictures from the park and the museum….

IMG_0339 small

IMG_0362 small

IMG_0375 small

IMG_0390 small

IMG_0408 small

IMG_0405 small

IMG_0414 small

IMG_0430 small

IMG_0431 small

IMG_0432 small

IMG_0424 small

IMG_0443 small

IMG_0440 small

IMG_0447 small

IMG_0448 small

About Jenny Trozell

Swedish girl with a passion for travelling, Latin dance and meeting new interesting and fun people :-)

Posted on April 5, 2014, in Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great photos. When did you travel there? I love the street scenes.

  2. This is an interesting and moving post Jenny. I’ve only spent one night in Japan, during a business trip some years ago. I didn’t get far from Tokyo airport, so I’m always interested in reading the accounts of other peoples travel to Japan.

  3. Jenny, these are fantastic photos of the food and that Atom Bomb Dome. Very cool.

  4. Beautiful pictures! I can only imagine how touching and sad it must have been to visit the memorial place.

Leave a Reply

