Adding some greenery in Yosemite

IMG_2356 small

Time again to pick up where I left on my South Western USA Rd Trip. But first I want to wish you all a Happy 2014! May this year bring lots of new exiting travel memories 🙂

The roadtrip me and my friend did last year in USA was for sure memorable. But very very intense. If there is something I have learnt lately about myself in regards to travelling, it is that I want to try to add fewer highlights on my future travels to have some more time to relax. Seeing a lot is allways in contradiction to the relaxing part. And it is a hard choice. But I will try. Cause more time in one spot also gives more spontanious meetings and happenings. And those are usually the most memorable once.

This years travel adventures will begin in March with 2 1/2 week Brazil whereof one week work. I could have chosen to pack lots of places into the vacation part but instead I have chosen to stay 6 days in Florianapolis after my workweek in Curitiba. And I will finish with a weekend Rio (where I have been before). In Floripa I look forward to relax and maybe try some surfing. And I want to pick up some other kind of surfing again, the couchsurfing. Couchsurfing, which you can read more about here, is not only about staying at each others homes. It is as great for just meeting locals and hanging out.

Well, back to US and Yosemite which was the stop after the visit to Bodie. Yosemite is many´s favourite but not really mine. It is a huge national park with forest, mountains and lakes. I have realized I am not a mountain person. And forest I have enough in my birthplace Småland. However, I love jungle (because of richness of exotic animal speeches).

Maybe Yosemite would have given a complete different picture off-season or in a more remote place of the park. But if you go in July to the Yosemite Valley area, where most treks starts and most lodging within the park i situated, you will sometimes have to queue the paved trails. Nevertheless, there were ofcourse some beauty around. I enjoyed seeing the Giant Sequoias in the The Mariposa Grove. I however think this is not the best place to see the real giants. But it gave a flavour 🙂 And I enjoyed the drive to Yosemite Valley after entering though the Tioga Pass, elevation almost 3000 meters.

Our entrance and starting point, the Tioga Pass

IMG_2327 small

IMG_2341 small

IMG_2346 small

IMG_2347 small

Giant Sequoias in the The Mariposa Grove

IMG_2371 small

IMG_2373 small

IMG_2379 small

IMG_2415 small

Trek around Yosemite Valley

IMG_2440 small

IMG_2436 small

IMG_2443 small

IMG_2490 small

IMG_2489 small

We hoped to see bears but had to be happy with bambi and bear bins 😉

IMG_2524 small

IMG_2423 small

About Jenny Trozell

Swedish girl with a passion for travelling, Latin dance and meeting new interesting and fun people :-)

Posted on January 4, 2014, in United States and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I couldn’t agree more. The most memorable experiences are usually not related to scheduled sightseeing but to the people you meet and the time you get to spend exploring the city without any scheduled arrangements to stress you up:) Regarding Yosemite, I actually liked it a lot, but I agree with you: It was so touristy!

  2. Beautiful pics, Jenny.

  3. Beautiful trip and photographs. I’m looking forward to your Brazil trip.

  4. Trevligt med USA-nostalgi igen 🙂

Leave a Reply

