Splurging in paradise-like Tulum

The last stop on our amazing journey through exotic jungle, volcanic highlands, colonial cities and Caribbean beauties was Tulum in Mexico. This was also our “splurging” destination on the trip. We had chosen a place called La Vita e Bella right on the beach and very soon we understood that we had landed in paradise with big P.  At daytime we just rolled down to the beach from our cabana. The only thing we had to focus on was not to get hit by the many kite surfers occupying the ocean. Tulum is a very popular spot for this activity and even though it is fun to watch it was the one, but only, less appreciated aspects of this place. For the rest it was just perfect. One afternoon we went to see the famous Tulum ruins just by the sea. I loved all the big Iguanas that lives there. In the evenings we had amazing food. One favorite spot was just a few hundred meters down the beach from our cabana. Up on a little hill laid a hotel called Mezzanine. Their outside lounge bar right by the sea served the most delicious cocktails we tasted on our trip to a very affordable price. Their restaurant offered Thai fusion cuisine that made my mouth explode. We honestly could not have asked for a better ending than this.

About Jenny Trozell

Swedish girl with a passion for travelling, Latin dance and meeting new interesting and fun people :-)

Posted on January 26, 2012, in Mexico and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. The beach looks beautiful there. Did you ever feel unsafe due to the issues going on in Mexico?

  2. Dreary gloomy rainy weather in NY. Your sun pictures warm the heart. I hope you’re dancing.

  3. Beautiful photos! Must be weird to compare with the Swedish winter 😉

    • Just one more week and then I will get rid of Swedish winter, for this time 🙂

      • Just two more days and I will experience the real Swedish winter …in Jokkmokk 😉
        Wish you all the best for your next adventure.
        By the way, I bought my pass for Way Out West! Really looking forward to it!

    • Enjoy Jokkmokk 🙂 I heard the cold in the north is much more pleasant than the winter we have. I have never been to Way Out West but heard it is really great. I would like to go sometime too. Let me know if you like to catch up for a coffee once the time is closer.

  4. Reblogged this on Mexpert's Blog and commented:
    Can’t get away? Take a mini vacation here

  5. Another idylic spot. Maybe oneday!

  6. Love your second image – it’s such an idyllic setting! So pretty! And that iguana – oh wow!

  7. What a cool place. 🙂

  8. I loved Tulum – the ruins, the iguanas, the beach, the whole deal. I think you just inspired my next blog =)

    • Great, I look forward to discover your blog a bit more! Btw, my bf is from Poland so I have a special connection with Poland for this reason. I love Sernik and Polish beer. And I allways need to visit Tesco 😉

  9. I love the view from the cliff ruins here. Been to Tulum 3 times. Did you guys check out xel-ha? Natural water park/sanctuary. Also a favorite trice visited.

    • Hi Jenny, nice that you popped by 🙂 We only had four nights in Tulum and wanted to spend as much time as possible by our nice cabana. But I am for sure going back to the Yucatan peninsula one day. It is so much to discover there. Xel-ha seems very beautiful!!

  10. Looks like you had an amazing trip – great photos!

  11. Beautiful shots of the beach, definitely makes me long for summer now! (Having a bar right by the beach seems so perfect~~)

  12. Thank you 🙂 It was all so perfect!!

  13. Looking at these pictures makes me miss summer that much more, I want to escape the winter blahs lol! 😀

  14. these photos are so wonderful Jenny!!
    Peace
    xandi

  15. It was 🙂

Leave a Reply

